Does practice make perfect?

February 15, 2010 at 16:06 (Uncategorized)

As I am busy writing this blog I am wondering if practice makes perfect.  I personally don’t feel as if I am the best writer so I am wondering if the more that I write, the better I will get.

I guess it’s like anything in life… we get given a task that is unfamiliar and are forced to work at it and figure it out.  This can cause great frustration and unhappiness at times but perhaps the more that we work at it the easier it will get.  This can be any task of life, be it joining the hockey team at school, working in a new job, to learning a new language or even becoming a new parent.  All these tasks of life need to be practiced in order for us to gain some sort of clarity and stability over them.

When I think back to my internship last year the first month was intense.  There was so much to learn, so much to do and I couldn’t string a media release together from head to toe.  After a few months I was able to cope better, work faster and get more involved with helping out.  Practice can build up confidence which in the long run leads to perfection of a task.

So yes, I do think that practice makes perfect.  I believe that whether it is something that you are really passionate about or if you are just trying your absolute best, that any kind of practice of a task will help you to improve, even in the slightest way.   Practicing is a repetition of a task that can be perfected if you try hard enough and if you have that added talent it will help you get just that much further. What do you think, do you think practice makes perfect?

3 Comments

  1. Wanika Rusthoi said,

    I would agree with you that practice makes perfect, especially in writing. I would disagree that you’re not a good writer – I believe you are. You are able to bring across your point clearly, and work with it through to the end of your argument – your arguments are clear and concise – therefore, a good writing style! Well done!

  2. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    I completely agree with your argument. Practice makes perfect; it also teaches great life lessons like perseverance and ‘if at first you don’t succeed…’

  3. Dalene Ingham-Brown said,

    My grade three teacher taught me that ‘practice makes permanent’. If you have done your research and understand fully what is needed then you can practice doing the right thing. Its no use doing the same wrong thing over and over again until you’ve learned it the wrong way… you know what I mean? So my conclusion from your blog is that if you understand correctly how something should be done then practicing that will make it perfect.

Leave a Reply

