If I Were The Boss…..

February 24, 2010 at 13:09 (Uncategorized)

If I were the boss…. wow, I have thought about this moment many times and it always seems to give me a thrill of happiness. When I think of being the boss I think of having my own personal assistant, my own office, my own call line, my own computer and even my own time. Is this really how it goes though?

Being the boss can mean all of these things but it also means structure, order, control and stress. People rely on you for almost everything whether it be about personal time, problems, money or just the general well being of the company. You need to be on top of everything and know everything that is happening. Debatable about whether it depends on the company, being a boss means being a boss.

However, we all need a boss, someone to run the business, take charge and open the doors and channels for the employees. I take off my hat to bosses around the world as it can be rather strenuous and tough.

If I were the boss…. I would try being the best boss out there. I would try and make sure that all my employees are happy and comfortable, that everything is functioning correctly and that the outcomes of any projects are successful. I would work on having the emotional intelligence of a dream worker so that my employees felt that they could approach me, feel at ease and able to discuss any problems. As we know, this is important because if the employees feel better and happier, they are willing to work harder which leads to success.

Being a good boss could affect the experience of a person and their life in a positive way….

3 Comments

  1. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    I like that you have included various angles when considering the topic; the writing style suits your angle too.

    I do think it needs a little more in the ‘conclusion’ area though as I felt that I wanted to continue reading. You made such a good point at the end but it would have been nice if you had elaborated why… 🙂

  2. Tasmin Kriel said,

    Well you got my vote. It seems as though you have the right equation for success which means inclusion of the employees in building a successful company.

  3. Wanika Rusthoi said,

    I would tend to agree with Kerry that the conclusion is lacking a little weight but the angle was very good and I liked how you structured it beginning with an intro, body of facts on what it means to be a boss and then ending with your opinion. well done!

Leave a Reply

