We are afraid of the wrong things

March 16, 2010 at 18:06 (Uncategorized)

I’m not going to lie… when I first read this topic I wasn’t sure what to write about or where to start even.  It was only today when I realised what I was afraid of and that I actually shouldn’t be. There are so many things that we are afraid of that we shouldn’t be.  In class today I jinxed myself and got given an article to read, summarise and present to the class for next week.  My initial thought? Fear? Yes!

I’ve been thinking about it though, what do I have to be afraid of? I know everyone in the class, no one is there to judge and we are all there to learn. What is it that scares me to stand up and speak in front of the class?  I’ve realized that it’s my own mind.  It is something that I need to get over and it is something that I shouldn’t be afraid of. Our mind can scare us and make us more worked up than we should be; it is one of the strongest tools that we have but it can also be our worst enemy.

Our mind can control us and make us afraid of the things that we don’t really need to be afraid of.  More than often in life we are afraid of the wrong things. We worry about things that we don’t have control over and forget that we should just let life take things as they come.  I am afraid of many things. I’m afraid of next year and where I will be, I’m afraid of the future and what lies ahead and I’m afraid to present in class next week.  These are all things that I shouldn’t be afraid of, they should be something to look forward to, something to bring on an experience.  Instead of being afraid of these things, we should grasp them and take them in our stride.

When you are feeling afraid of something, stop and think about if it worth being afraid of.  If it isn’t, put it aside and try look at it as something new and in a positive way.

4 Comments

  1. Wanika Rusthoi said,

    Very well written Steph! We thinnk a like! But loved how you brought in the example of class today and related it so well to the topic. Very well done.

  2. Kerry-lee Cockrell said,

    You make a very good point. Well written, good structure and nicely argued.
    I thought it had a sort of slow start buy your ending was strong. Well worth the read.

  3. Dalene Ingham-Brown said,

    That is so true, our minds do scare us! Its all about things we’ve experienced and our own self image that somehow influences our fears. Great conclusion! You’re right, we really do need to look our fears in the eye and evaluate whether its really worth being an obsticle.

  4. Marian Pike said,

    Feel the fear but do it anyway – take a risk and wow the class with an outstanding presentation, just because you can.

Leave a Reply

