How Do You Step From The Top of a 100 Foot Pole?

April 5, 2010 at 18:57 (Uncategorized)

How do you step from the top of 100 foot pole? You don’t.  So how do you get down? Fall, leap, jump, shout for help, or… slide? If you fall ..  you could die, if you leap or jump, you could hurt yourself quite badly or …. die.  If you shout for help …. you could land up waiting a while and become highly embarrassed when an entire fire brigade arrives.  However, if you slide …. you could land on your own two feet in safety and style I might add. (I’ve been watching too much How I Met your Mother).

So how do you step from the top of 100 foot pole? It is the same as making a big decision in life. It cannot be taken lightly, rushed or forced.  It needs to be done slowly, meticulously and carefully. Risk taking is not really an option here.

If you decide to jump, leap or fall off of the pole, you could land up hurting yourself, the same as if an important decision is rushed into and later regretted. You fall to a pit of failure that is difficult to recover from. Time is needed to decide how to approach a decision, steps are required in how to handle it and confidence is needed to go through with it.

So I ask again, how do you step from the top of 100 foot pole? You slide down it.  You take your time and decide on the best option that will suit you, the best approach for you and the best way that you can handle it.  You take it as it comes and make sure that you choose the easiest and calculated choice for yourself that will lead you to safety and get your feet firmly back on the ground.

4 Comments

  1. Wanika Rusthoi said,

    It’s so interesting how different people’s opinions are of topics such as these. I read on one hand to jump and be free, and then I read to be careful and calculated. I really liked your methodical style in this piece – it resonated with what you were trying to say – plan, calculate and prepare.

  2. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    Haha, it really is funny how the same thing is interpreted so differently by others. I took a completely different approach to you, yet I enjoyed your blog as much as my own. I guess that different situations call for a varied approach. We can’t always jump and we don’t always need to slide.

    I’m really enjoying your blogs, you’re putting so much of yourself into them. It’s like chatting to you in person – love it.

  3. Dalene Ingham-Brown said,

    Your blog really made me think about the topic. You said “…the best approach for you and the best way that you can handle it.”, that made me think: who ever said that the 100ft pole is standing vertically?

    The best way I would handle it is if the pole was lying horizontally across the ground. Seeing as the thickness would be at most a metre high off the ground I would make sure that I had a friend with a camera waiting so that I could leap off and strike an awesome airborne pose that I would later upload of Facebook.

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to experience a paradigm shift!

  4. Steph said,

    Haha thanks so much guys! Funny Dalene 🙂

Leave a Reply

