One Of The Best Things In the World To Do

April 28, 2010 at 19:00 (Uncategorized)

There are so many great things to do in this world…. Sky diving, rock climbing, meeting with up with friends, eating, partying, travelling and many, many more.  What I have found though is that one of the best things in the world to do is a simple act, something that is so easy, so comfortable and relaxing. Something that requires nothing more than to merely close one’s eyes; to relax each and every muscle and to turn our mind from every day thoughts into thoughts of peace and imagination.

So what is it that I think is one of the best things in the world to do? Sleep.  Curling up oneself into a cocoon of warmth and softness can ultimately be one of the most wonderful things to do at the end of the day. As winter is approaching we find that sleep becomes more of a necessity and seriously at times, an absolute pleasure.  The way we fall into a pit of softness, placing our legs at the strategic position that allows for ultimate comfort and muscle relaxation, resting our neck and nuzzling into a cold soft plump pillow can only say one thing… OMG.  After a long hard day’s work or a night out on the town, our beds are calling our name and we are answering with praise.

Sleep is part of healthy living and this state or level of semi-unconsciousness can help us to grow and develop.  As we sleep our brains are constantly working and thinking, depending on one’s body, we wake up feeling revitalised, refreshed and energised.  At other times sleep helps our brain to learn, capture or memorise things from throughout the day.

The only problem with burrowing into a warm, soft cocoon is that it makes it so hard to get up and get going in the morning.  I guess at least we know that at the end of a rough, tiring day, we are able to retreat and escape our world, only to enter another world of comfort and dreams.

3 Comments

  1. Wanika Rusthoi said,

    You’ve made me quite keen to go sleep now… sleep vs working – I’d choose sleep any day!

  2. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    Funny but I don’t really l*o*v*e sleeping like that. I’m not an insomniac or anything and I do need (just about always) 8hrs so as not to be cranky…thus I appreciate the importance of it…but I guess I have never really been a sleeper. I’m more like, bring on the day and my awake time, even if I spend it doing nothing.

    I liked your use of angles in this blog, incorporating elements of sleep and ‘the brain’ – the variety of topic within topic was interesting.

  3. Dalene Ingham-Brown said,

    I’m with Wan on this 😀 I really feel like napping right now! I also love finding that perfect position in bed and drifting off into sleepy heaven. Well written, very descriptive and lovely!

Leave a Reply

