Jitters, Fear and Laughter

May 5, 2010 at 15:20 (Uncategorized)

It’s absolutely freezing, we are all hungry, thirsty (like you can’t believe), cold and tired yet somehow, these people are still so friendly.  At least, this was my experience on Sunday night.

I did my first advert shoot ever as an extra in Longstreet for a MTN Ayoba soccer advert, which will be out in two weeks time (keep your eyes peeled), and re-discovered that Capetonians are super friendly.  I was pretty nervous for this, I’m not going to lie, but my boyfriend said it would be fine and we’d be together. It was only my luck that we got split up and I was stuck by myself most of the night. Standing alone by myself I soon fell into a nice group of girls who kept me company for the rest of the night.

We put on this hardcore, don’t touch me or I’ll kill you exterior, but for some reason when we are all stuck in one area for hours doing the same thing over and over again, getting shouted at by the same people, sharing similar experiences and talking absolute rubbish, that hardcore exterior seems to fade away. I don’t know if it was the beautiful surroundings of the intense colours, the brightly shining lights, the flickers of golden confetti falling to the ground, the atmosphere of pure carnival fever or the amusement of the security guards chasing after the street kids that stole some vuvuzelas, but in all honestly, everyone at this specific place and time were all cheerful and smiles.

It was a breath of fresh air to meet absolute strangers and see their each and every individual talent which ranged from circus act talents to flame throwing and acrobats and even to the oddest individuals who simply just made you feel more comfortable by sharing one of their own first shoot experiences.  It made me realise how fortunate we are to live in such a welcoming and friendly place, a place where everyone is interested in what you do, interested in who you are and what our country prides itself on.  This only surfaced a wonder of mine, about how the rest of the world will see us for 2010, what they will think of us, Cape Town… South Africa.  After Sunday night, I am almost 100% sure that the rest of the world will experience the glow and light that South Africa and their people has to offer, they just need to give us a chance.

4 Comments

  1. Wanika Rusthoi said,

    Beautiful! We need to show the world next month what we’re truely about! Our good nature, not our crime!

  2. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    🙂 Can’t wait to see the advert; the pictures look amazing! Must say that I really enjoyed the use of images in your last two blogs….It adds a little sumin-sumin…LOL.

  3. Dalene Ingham-Brown said,

    What a great experience writing piece. You put me right there in the crowd with you. Cape Town is a very friendly place, agreed and I hope that the pro’s outweigh the con’s when tourists experience Cape Town.

  4. Dalene Ingham-Brown said,

    A great experience writing piece. You put me right there in the crowd with you. Cape Town is a very friendly place, agreed and I hope that the pro’s outweigh the con’s when tourists experience Cape Town.

Leave a Reply

