Have we been bitten by the Social Media Bug?

May 29, 2010 at 18:00 (Uncategorized)

I never thought of social media as playing a huge part in my life, I always thought, “Hey, facebook, well that’s as involved as I’m going to get” – yes, narrow minded, I know!  I used to try and keep a distance between my personal life and friends to my “social network life” and “social friends”.  Lately I have discovered how important social media is.

During this year we were forced to get involved and at first, I’m not going to lie, I hated it.  It has only been in the last two months that I almost feel addicted to social media.  I have to know what’s going on now, who is online, what is being said and what is happening in and around the big bad world.  It is so weird because I never used to be this concerned (shocking for a PRP) but I finally feel that I understand the social networking world and where it stands. I have been bitten by the social media bug!

These days when I hear someone comment about how useless social networking is I almost shudder because I see my old self in that person – unaware, narrow minded and not willing to discover something new.  I’m so grateful to have become more in touch with my own social networking being! Yes, it can be a huge distraction but at the same time it can be a life saver, a quick means to get information and get involved.  Look out future, here comes social media!

1 Comment

  1. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    Seriously, I am really enjoying your writing. Fantastic point…as I was exactly the same person as you describe.

Leave a Reply

