Wishlist…

July 6, 2010 at 13:28 (Uncategorized)

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about the future and what it holds for me.  This time in my life is not so crucial at the moment but sooner or later I’ll have to put the foot on the brake and take a second to think where I want to go, what I want to do – what my future holds.  Scary thought? Yes!

This got me thinking about all the things that I want out of life. Life is too short – as my dad says “You’ve blinked and 30 years have passed!” so what does that mean . . . . make the most of it!  At the moment the Fifa 2010 World Cup is taking place – a huge achievement for South Africa to be holding such an event!  From all my wishes, hopes and dreams, right now all I want is for the world to enjoy our country. For the world to take a minute to look at us and to see the beauty that we have in our country and the people we produce.  I wish for the world to see the effort and pride that South Africa has put into this event and for them to enjoy it!

Seeing the pride in each and every South African during this time is such a momentous occasion for us.  Walking on the streets, hearing our people shout and scream with joy (Ayoba!) gives you the goose bumps of pride – who wouldn’t want to be a South African!!?  So my wishes, hopes and dreams right now are to make the most of this event… to stand by South Africa and to give all my support and pride into what we have created.  This is probably only going to happen once in our lives so why not live it up!?

2 Comments

  1. Wanika Rusthoi said,

    I want to cry. I feel just as passionate about this as you, and I’m so sad that its over. Even though I was getting a bit sick of soccer, I can never get sick of the vibe we felt in the city. And the different attitudes towards people. And the “gees”. And the love, and friendship, and joy and hospitality.
    Great blog!! Really enjoyed it!

  2. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    Absolutely. The World Cup has, if anything, united the country to work towards a common goal and the outcome was a total success! I am left with memories I will cherish, always.

Leave a Reply

