Dentist Horrors

September 8, 2010 at 12:37 (Uncategorized)

Recently, I made a vow to myself….. to make sure I floss and Listerine EVERYDAY, ALWAYS, ALTYD, INFINITY!! I went for my annual dentist check up the other day and to my horror, was told that I needed two fillings.  Feeling rather upset about it, as I’m such a hygiene freak, my dentist told me it that it’ll be quick to fill those babies up.

Lying in the chair, feeling rather exposed with my mouth wide open and not sure where to place my tongue, my dentist starts to clean away when all of a sudden I get this cold, aching, drilling pain that runs straight down into my jaw and right up into my brain. My teeth were just way too sensitive so I landed up having two injections.  I cannot explain to you firstly, how scared I am of the dentist (yes, I will admit this on my blog).  I’m not sure why as I have a brilliant, friendly dentist, I haven’t had a bad experience before; I guess it’s just the unexpected… like being told you have to have two fillings filled when you thought everything was fine!

Anyways, eventually the whole right side of my mouth was completely numb and lame (quite embarrassing as you ‘zero’ control over your own mouth) and after having needles, a tooth re-shaper (?), some kind of heating fan and very dry, sore, stretched lips, I had my teeth fixed up.  Sore? Not after the injections thankfully! I’m just very glad that I don’t have to go back again for at least another year… I’ll be prepared for when that date comes again!

By the way, off the topic, looking for a pic for this blog was just as bad as going to the dentist… there are some scary pictures out there! Therefore I decided to pick a cute little friendly looking tooth 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Kerry-Lee Cockrell said,

    FYI, you should be going to the dentist every 6 months my friend. Easy reading, fun and quirky – enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

