A Life Experience

September 19, 2010 at 16:23 (Uncategorized)

I can feel my heart racing; I can hear it thumping in my ears.  It’s hot, my face is prickling, burning and my knee is hurting, I can’t hold this position for much longer. Everyone is watching.  I hope I’m doing the right thing. Lights. “Hold the position.” Flash. “Thank you!”

My first hair shoot was a complete experience for me.  My hair dresser, Megan from Synergy Hair Salon, asked me if she could use me in a competition that the salon wanted to enter.  The competition was for GHD’s limited range of hair straighteners –   “Choose your Destiny” – Green Envy, Purple Indulgence, Red Lust and Blue Serenity.

Initially I was actually quite calm and even thought that it could be really fun to try something new like this.   However, on the day of the shoot, I was extremely nervous – you know the kind… heart racing, jumpy, stressed, butterflies in your stomach and sweaty palms.  To my surprise when I went to the salon I was completely pampered – hair wash, head massage, blow dry, straightened hair – it was great!  I had my make up done by a professional artist who made my eyes stand out with bold, beautiful colours of striking golds, greens and blacks.  I was then given a few items of clothing which I had to wear – a roughly painted lime green corset, black skinny pants and a green and black tulle tutu with a long train, to wear over the pants.  Feeling rather out of my comfort zone and depth, I glanced round and saw that the other girls were also wearing outrageous clothing which put me at ease.

The final touch to my Green Envy outfit was fake hair! I was given the most gorgeous, long fake hair which went all the way down my back (I’ve never even had such long hair in my life)!  Megan then styled and curled the hair and added a green piece which was glued onto my scalp, after which came all the pulling, teasing, scrunching and hair spray (Ouch!).

Finally it was time for me to sit on the set which was placed in the Synergy Salon window.  At that very moment I felt as if I’d faint, collapse or die on the spot!  Everyone was staring at me; I could feel my cheeks burning with panic, my heart felt like it was about to jump out of my chest and my legs were wobbly like jelly.  The set for the ‘Green Envy’ GHD was stunning with audacious green satin materials; sequins and tulle as well as ivy plants used for decor.  Sitting on the set in the window with the lights and having regular make up checks made me feel – ever so briefly – like a super model!

I have never experienced such a rush of nerves, anxiety and excitement with a slight hint of courage all at once.  This isn’t me, I kept thinking, I cannot model to save my life! Do I smile, do I pout, open my mouth, keep it closed? Where do I look? *panic*. “Look over here quick.  Put your head down.  Hold that pose.” said the photographer.

Before I knew it, it was all over.  Walking away from the set I felt light.  I’d done something that I never would have thought I could have done – or have the chance to do.  It was an adventure.   A completely exhilarating, scary adventure.

1 Comment

  1. Briony said,

    Wow, you look stunning!!! xx

Leave a Reply

