Wrong First Impressions

October 3, 2010 at 18:14 (Uncategorized)

You know when they say you should never judge a book by its cover? Well it’s true.  And oh how true it is.  It’s amazing how first impressions can impact on our deciding factors of whether we should do something or not.

The other day I took a walk down the road and for the first time I walked into the fish shop where I live. I’d never been in their before purely because of the fact that the outside structure did not capture my eye.  Firstly, it is situated in, if you can call it, the “slum” section of where I live and secondly the sign and glass windows had a thick layer of dirt and sea breeze air encrusted on the outside.  However, I decided to go and take a look that day, out of curiosity.

You wouldn’t believe it but when I walked through the rusted black gates and went inside I was hit with colours, bright lights, and decorations, so many different kinds of fish (some I’d never seen before with pointy looking fins) and beautiful glowing ambient fish tanks that imitated the bottom of the ocean coral reefs.  This fish shop was amazing; it is almost as beautiful as the Waterfront Aquarium – no kidding, it’s mostly tropical fish.  I guess it just proves that you should never judge a book by its cover because you might just be missing out.

Leave a Reply

