Odd Wonderment

November 4, 2010 at 16:11 (Uncategorized)

Why is it that I like the smell of coffee but I hate the taste? I’ve been wondering this for years.  I can walk past a coffee shop and smell the refreshing hint of a coffee aroma but I can’t seem to be able to drink it.

After research I found that the coffee bean, itself, is extremely bitter which makes many people pick up the bitterness within a hot cup of coffee.  Our taste buds are sensitive to flavours and that is why certain essences suit some people and not others. However, with the coffee scent, we cannot smell the bitterness from the bean; all we smell is the infusion of the roasted coffee bean.

Even though I don’t like coffee, I still wish I could drink it; the smell is enough to make you want to eat it.  I do feel as if I am missing out with all the different types: Cappuccino, Caffe Latte, Con Panna, Gelado and Caffe Mocha, and nowadays coffee shops make coffee look so funky, trendy and delicious,  well, for now, I think I’ll just have to stick to tea.





Leave a Reply

