The Ugly Truth

November 4, 2010 at 13:04 (Uncategorized)

Chatting to a friend of mine the other day left me feeling rather shocked and speechless.  You see, my friend is a pre-school teacher of ages 2-3 year old children.  She loves her job and enjoys looking after the children and creating lessons of interest for them.  However, what she told me was quite unbelievable.

As she went over to one of the kids to check on their colouring, the child told her to “Piss off”!  Now I’m not sure about you, but having a 2 year old tell me to “Piss off” would be quite a shock.  I started thinking though, where does a 2 year old pick this up? How do they know? And then I realised… it’s the parents!

What parents forget is that a child’s mind is like a sponge – anything you say, they will remember and more importantly – repeat!! How do you deal with this? Well, my friend put the child on the “peace mat” which is kinda like a naughty chair but without negative connotations (good idea).  This still left me thinking though, that parents should be so much more careful with what they say around their children… it may backfire!

 

Leave a Reply

