Take A Chill Pill

November 5, 2010 at 09:38 (Uncategorized)

Today I got shouted at by agency that I am a part of.  I won’t name them in my blog but I only signed up with this particular agency last year and have only managed to participate in one of their “tasks/arrangements” once before due to collage commitment.  Oh yes, let me be clear that this is definitely not an agency in my career field/path, it’s more on the commercial side.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I received a sms today asking whether I could make it to such an “event” and by human fault, I forgot to reply to them – yes that is bad but I honestly forgot.  Towards the end of the day I received a phone call from them shouting at me to reply and check my messages.  Now, if this was a friend or family member, I would understand but this was a person who I don’t know and she was very rude to me.  It just got me thinking, what if I’d been in hospital the whole day, or something horrible had happened for example which lead me to not being able to reply, what if I was out of the country or writing an exam… how is she to know? She wouldn’t know.

My point is… we always assume things.  We assume people don’t WANT to reply when in actual fact maybe they didn’t receive the message, didn’t have airtime or, ran out of time, or just like me, they honestly forgot to reply.  Instead of “attacking” people, we should rather ask first.  Many people forget to do this which then leaves the other person feeling rather unhappy or annoyed.  I too also need to remember this when someone doesn’t get back to me.

Leave a Reply

